top of page

Tim's Two Weeks of Tips: Mental Breaks


Over the next two weeks I will be highlighting each of my five tips for living the life you deserve as I had previously outlined within my last post “Paving the way to the life YOU deserve”. Each of these tips can be used to better handle situations as they come, whether they are within work or life. The first tip I spoke about was the importance of making time to take mental breaks. Sometimes the best thing you can do for your productivity is take some time to walk away, grab a cup of coffee with a friend or take some time to just completely switch off.

I have taken a lot of time to prepare my website and blog for going live and it wouldn’t have been possible without the help of mental breaks. My favourite thing to do when I am stuck is to go for a run or walk. Removing myself completely from my environment and doing some exercise helps me to refocus. I unwind by observing my environment and thinking about the run, not my work. This formulae works for me. Think about what works for you by trying different solutions until you find the one that works best.

I love to travel which is a big contributor of my creative process. I recently returned from a month long trip through Europe with my friends and family. This truly allowed me to rest my mind and open my creativity to launching this blog and my new business upon my return. I was able to step back, look at my progress and ideas through a clearer lens. I had time to think and reflect away in new and exciting environments. I gave my mind time to explore and think while experiencing new cities and countries and meeting new and interesting people.

Mental breaks aren’t only good for your productivity but they are also necessary for one’s mental health. Mental health is one of the most important aspects of leading a happy and healthy lifestyle. It is quite often pushed to the side as a subject not to be spoken about. Luckily, in 2017 we are starting to become more open about speaking about mental health and it’s affects on our day to day lives. Mental health awareness is an interest of mine. I am planning to build awareness around looking after yourself in this every demanding world. I recently have reached out to the Beyond Blue and became a volunteer to assist in highlighting the importance of staying well and asking for help when needed.

Take time in your life to switch off and take breaks. Find the things in life that make you happy and use them as your way of taking time out. Stay well and keep healthy. Take mental breaks regularly and use that time to rejuvenate and relax.

bottom of page